Session dates

Our sessions take place every Tuesday evening at Greenwich West Community Centre unless otherwise stated. Our beginners’ class runs from 7:30pm-8:15pm, before our community band rehearsals for intermediate and advanced drummers from 8:15-9:30pm.

*Our beginners’ class is currently suspended. Our sessions currently run 8pm-9:30pm for experienced beginners to advanced drummers!

Drop-in fees are as follows:

  • 7:30-8:15pm Beginners’ class – £10 per session (NOT CURRENTLY RUNNING)
  • 8:15-9:30pm Community band – £10 per session (NOW 8pm-9:30pm!)
  • 7:30-9:30pm Both classes – £15 per week

N.B. Our Beginners’ class is not currently running. Please email if you’re interested in joining and we will commence the beginners’ class when we have a large enough group!

Or sign up to our half-termly membership discounts to save money on band rehearsals, beginner classes or on attending both! Here are our next rehearsal dates at Greenwich West Community Centre:

Tuesday 28th May 2024 – NO SESSION!

  • Tuesday 4th June 2024 (members £51 or £64 for both)
  • Tuesday 11th June 2024 (members £45 or £58 for both)
  • Tuesday 18th June 2024 (members £39 or £52 for both)
  • Tuesday 25th June 2024 (members £33 or £46 for both)
  • Tuesday 2nd July 2024 (members £27 or £40 for both)
  • Tuesday 9th July 2024 (no members discount)
  • Tuesday 16th July 2024 (no members discount)

Tuesday 23rd July- Tuesday 3rd September 2024 – SUMMER BREAK!

Weekend workshops

Sunday 10th March 2024, 10:15-4:30pm Lewisham

  • Experienced beginners/intermediates: Djole dunduns, djembe rhythms and intermediate solo phrases
  • Advanced: Lamba advanced solo phrases

Saturday 4th February 2024, 11:00 onwards Lewisham

  • Djembe reskinning day 3. Finishing off tuning reskinned drums from our past reskinning days!

Sunday 8th October 2023, 11:00 onwards Lewisham

  • Djembe reskinning day 2. Help to reskin more djembes and bring your own to be repaired!

Sunday 27th August 2023, 11:00 onwards Lewisham

  • Djembe reskinning day. Help to reskin djembes and learn a very practical and money-saving new skill!
  • Bring along your own broken drum to be fixed and pay £25 for the cost of a new goat skin.

Saturday 25th March 2023, 10:00-4:45pm Lewisham

  • Experienced beginners/intermediates: Koma dunduns and intermediate djembe solos
  • Intermediate/advanced: Koma advanced djembe solos and Fankani improvised djembe solos

Saturday 2nd July 2022, 10:00-4:00pm Lewisham

  • Experienced beginners/intermediates: Fankani djembe and dunduns
  • Intermediate/advanced: Nyando djembe and dunduns

Saturday 19th March 2022, 10:30-4:30pm Lewisham

  • 10:30-11:30am – Experienced beginner/Intermediate djembe solo phrases – £10
  • 11:30am-12:30pm – Experienced beginner/Intermediate dunduns – £10
  • 12:45-1:45pm – Intermediate dunduns – £10
  • 2:45-4:45pm – Advanced djembe and dunduns – £20

The workshop on Saturday 28th March will cost £30 (£25 for students with ID). See our ‘Weekend workshops‘ page for more information, or email africandrumming@hotmail.co.uk if you would like to book your place!